Stahl Named CAC Rookie of the Year as Spartans Finish Second

Photo courtesy of Nairem Moran - St. Mary's Athletic Communications
Photo courtesy of Nairem Moran - St. Mary's Athletic Communications

ST. MARY'S CITY, MD – The York College men's swimming squad closed out their 2018 Capital Athletic Conference championships with a second place finish in the six team field.

Spartan freshman Keven Stahl was named the Capital Athletic Conference Rookie-of-the-Year after a dominating weekend that saw him nab three individual championships, two NCAA B cut times while he was also a member of two winning relay squads. Stahl's three individual wins were tops at the championships.  

The Spartans finished the weekend with 743 points as Mary Washington won the title with 905.5 points. Salisbury was third with 485 points while St. Mary's (366.5 points), Frostburg State (331 points), and Marymount (252 points) rounded out the field.

In addition to Stahl's record setting performance in the 1650 freestyle, senior Morgan Schreiber won his third straight 200 backstroke championship. Sophomore Jesse Tate picked up his second win of the weekend with a victory in the 200 butterfly.



First Place Finishes (First Team All-CAC)

Keven Stahl – 1650 Freestyle (15:48.01) – CAC and Championship Record and NCAA B Cut Time

Morgan Schreiber – 200 Backstroke (1:51.21)  

Jesse Tate – 200 Butterfly (1:53.00)


Third Place Finishes

Drew Newman – 200 Backstroke (1:56.14)  

Trevor Brinton – 100 Freestyle (47.31)

Kaelan Dowdall – 200 Butterfly (1:56.29)


Swimmers Who Made the Finals (4th Through 8th)

Greg Williams – 4th in the 200 Backstroke (1:56.21)

Tyler Maggio – 4th in the 200 Breaststroke (2:06.71)

Glaucio Silva – 6th in the 100 IM (54.32)

Connor McIlroy – 6th in the 200 Backstroke (1:57.34)

Michael Federline – 7th in the 100 IM (56.11)

Kaelan Dowdall – 7th in the 200 Backstroke (1:59.08)

Michael Federline – 8th in the 200 Breastroke (2:18.66)

Greg Williams – 8th in the 200 Butterfly (2:02.44)


Relay Finishes

400 Freestyle Relay – 3rd / Keven Stahl, AJ Loehr, Jesse Tate, Trevor Brinton (3:09.35)  


Up Next

The Spartan season comes to a close with the second place finish. Stahl will have the opportunity to earn a berth in the NCAA Division III Championships in Indianapolis, Indiana on March 21-24. The official invitations will come out on March 5.

The meet closes out the careers of seniors Morgan Schreiber, Artem Peshenko, and Billy Sieck. The threesome has led the Spartans to three second place finishes during their four year careers.